Organisme: 
American Society of Civil Engineers-National Capital Section (ASCE-NCS)
Client: 
National Park Service
DC Department of Transportation
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
Projet: 
17th Street Levee | Washington, DC

Louis Berger a reçu le Prix de mérite 2017 pour la réalisation exceptionnelle en génie civil (OCEA) de l'American Society of Civil Engineers-National Capital Section (ASCE-NCS) pour son travail sur la 17th Street Levee à Washington, D.C. Le projet a été récompensé lors de l'ASCE-NCS Annual Awards Banquet le 21 mars 2017.     

En collaboration avec le National Park Service (NPS), le District Department of Transportation (DDOT) et l'U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE), Louis Berger a fourni la gestion de conception et les services archéologiques pour le système de confinement des inondations de la 17th Street.       

La 17th Street Levee a été construite pour réduire le risque pour la sécurité humaine et l'infrastructure critique des inondations du fleuve Potomac. La digue est composée de murs anti-inondation en béton avec des façades en pierre et une structure amovible consistant de panneaux en aluminium entre les poteaux en acier. En cas d'un haut niveau des eaux, les panneaux peuvent être érigés pour s'attacher aux murs anti-inondation de part et d'autre de la 17th Street. 

Le projet a satisfait à toutes les normes USACE et Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) pour l'évènement qui présente une récurrence de 100 ans, permettant à Washington, D.C. de réaliser l'un de ses nombreux objectifs de résilience.

Louis Berger a également travaillé étroitement avec la DC National Capital Planning Commission et la NPS National Capital Region pour garantir que l'éclairage, les plantations, les passerelles et le matériau en pierre de toute la zone ont été soigneusement conçus en harmonie avec les monuments adjacents et l'aménagement paysager existant.

Le prix ASCE-NCS reconnaît l'excellence locale dans les projets, chez les ingénieurs et les étudiants qui contribuent à la profession et à la communauté.

Agency: 
American Society of Civil Engineers-National Capital Section (ASCE-NCS)
Client: 
National Park Service
DC Department of Transportation
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
Project: 
17th Street Levee | Washington, DC

Louis Berger received the 2017 Award of Merit for Outstanding Civil Engineering Project from the American Society of Civil Engineers-National Capital Section (ASCE-NCS) for its work on the 17th Street Levee in Washington, D.C. The award was presented at the ASCE-NCS Annual Awards Banquet on March 21, 2017.     

In collaboration with the National Park Service (NPS), District Department of Transportation (DDOT) and the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE), Louis Berger provided design management and archaeological services for the 17th Street flood containment system.       

The 17th Street levee was constructed to reduce risk to human safety and critical infrastructure from flooding of the Potomac River. The levee is composed of concrete floodwalls with stone façades and a removable structure consisting of aluminum panels between steel posts. In the event of high water, the panels can be erected to attach to the floodwalls on both sides of 17th Street. 

The project met all the USACE and Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) standards for the 100-year flood event, helping Washington, D.C., achieve one of its many resiliency goals.

Louis Berger also worked closely with the DC National Capital Planning Commission and the NPS National Capital Region to ensure that all area lighting, plantings, connecting walkway paths and stone material were carefully designed in harmony with adjacent monuments and existing landscape.

The ASCE-NCS Award recognizes local excellence in projects, engineers, and students who contribute to the profession and the community.