• Mutombo Hospital and Research Center
  • Mutombo Hospital and Research Center rendering
  • Dikembe Mutombo Ground Breaking Ceremony
  • Mutombo Hospital view
  • Mutombo Hospital constrtuction
  • Mutombo Hospital and Research Center
  • Mutombo Hospital emergency hallway
  • Mutombo Hospital cuisine
  • Signing Ceremony
L'ancienne star de la NBA construit un hôpital en République démocratique du Congo

L'ancien joueur de basket-ball américain de la NBA Dikembe Mutombo est connu comme étant l'un des plus grands joueurs défensifs de tous les temps, mais c'est aussi un humanitaire. Né en République démocratique du Congo, il a cherché à améliorer les conditions de vie et de santé dans son pays natal. Il aspirait aussi à honorer la mémoire de sa mère, Biamba Marie Mutombo, décédée d'un accident vasculaire cérébral en 1997.

Défi
La Fondation Dikembe Mutombo avait de nombreux objectifs pour le peuple du Congo, notamment :

  • des soins de santé primaires et la prévention de la maladie
  • la promotion de politiques de santé
  • une meilleure recherche en matière de santé
  • un accès accru à l'éducation en matière de santé.

La fondation décida qu'un nouvel hôpital bien équipé de 300 lits était nécessaire dans la périphérie de Kinshasa, la capitale de la république. Louis Berger a été retenu comme représentant et architecte du propriétaire, en travaillant sur le projet du début à l'étude, jusqu'au développement et aux phases finales de conception, tout en préparant les documents d'appels d'offre, gérant l'acquisition de l'entrepreneur en construction grâce à un processus d'appels d'offre concurrentiel et fournissant une supervision sur site pendant la phase de construction. L'équipe Louis Berger a également développé le plan de l'équipement et de l'ameublement de l'hôpital, et a géré l'acquisition et l'installation de l'équipement bio-médical, du mobilier et de l'aménagement du paysage.

Solution
Ouvert en 2007, l'hôpital comprend un complexe administratif, des laboratoires, des salles d'urgence, des salles d'opération et une zone de maternité de 70 lits. Portant le nom de la mère de Dikembe Mutombo, l'hôpital Biamba Marie Mutombo servira des générations de personnes au Congo.

Solutions for a better world

Biamba Marie Mutombo Hospital | Democratic Republic of Congo

  • Mutombo Hospital and Research Center
  • Mutombo Hospital and Research Center rendering
  • Dikembe Mutombo Ground Breaking Ceremony
  • Mutombo Hospital view
  • Mutombo Hospital constrtuction
  • Mutombo Hospital and Research Center
  • Mutombo Hospital emergency hallway
  • Mutombo Hospital cuisine
  • Signing Ceremony
Former NBA star builds hospital in Democratic Republic of the Congo

Former U.S. NBA basketball player Dikembe Mutombo is known as one of the game’s all-time greatest defensive players, but he is also a humanitarian. Born in the Democratic Republic of the Congo, he sought to improve the health and living conditions of his native country. He also yearned to honor the memory of his mother, Biamba Marie Mutombo, who died of a stroke in 1997.

Challenge
The Dikembe Mutombo Foundation had many goals for the people of the Congo, including:

  • Primary healthcare and disease prevention.
  • Health policy promotion.
  • Better health research.
  • Increased access to healthcare education.

The foundation decided that a new, well-equipped 300-bed hospital was needed on the outskirts of Kinshasa, the capital of the republic. Louis Berger was retained as owner's representative and architect, taking the project from inception through the conceptual design, design development and final design phases, preparing tender documents, managing the procurement of the construction contractor through a competitive bid process, and providing on-site supervision during the construction phase. The Louis Berger team also developed the plan for equipping and furnishing the hospital, and managed the procurement and installation of bio-medical equipment, furniture and landscaping.

Solution
Opened in 2007, the hospital includes an administration complex, laboratories, emergency rooms, operating rooms and a 70-bed maternity area. Named after Dikembe Mutombo’s mother, the Biamba Marie Mutombo Hospital will serve generations of people in the Congo.