• view of new Rutgers building
  • building corner perspective
  • pedestrian walkway
  • Garage screens
  • aerial view with train rendering
  • view of city from river
  • Brunswick Transit Village rendering
  • clock view rendering in New Brunswick
  • Brunswick construction site
  • New Brunswick station and pedestrian walkway
Le réaménagement à usage mixte revitalise le centre du Nouveau-Brunswick (N.J.)

Incorporé en tant que ville en 1736, le Nouveau-Brunswick (N.J.) est situé entre New York et Philadelphie (Pennsylvanie). La ville d'origine se situait sur une artère clé pour les voyageurs coloniaux et celle-ci était autrefois surnommée la King's Highway.

Défi
Un plan de réaménagement à usage mixte était nécessaire pour le quartier en déclin juste au nord de la gare du Nouveau-Brunswick. Le plan exigeait une conception qui viendrait compléter l'esthétique historique du campus de Old Queen de l'Université de Rutgers ainsi que l'Église catholique romaine Saint-Pierre voisine.

Solution
Le développeur Devco et la New Brunswick Development Corporation ont choisi Louis Berger pour effectuer l'ingénierie civile et environnementale du projet Gateway, notamment le développement de concepts, la conception, la délivrance de permis et la construction. Louis Berger a conçu une tour à usage mixte d'espaces commerciaux et résidentiels.

Le développement Gateway a été achevé en 2012. Le projet fini comprend un immeuble résidentiel de 200 unités et une installation de parking comportant plus de 500 places de stationnement. Un pont piétonnier relie la tour résidentielle et l'artère principale de l'Université de Rutgers, College Avenue, à la gare ferroviaire de New Jersey Transit.

Le terrain négligé à côté de la gare a été effectivement transformé en une structure de vente au détail et commerciale à haute densité qui profitera à la ville. La nouvelle structure de 16 étages est actuellement le plus haut bâtiment du Nouveau-Brunswick.

• view of new Rutgers building
  • building corner perspective
  • pedestrian walkway
  • Garage screens
  • aerial view with train rendering
  • view of city from river
  • Brunswick Transit Village rendering
  • clock view rendering in New Brunswick
  • Brunswick construction site
  • New Brunswick station and pedestrian walkway
Mixed-use redevelopment revitalizes downtown New Brunswick, NJ

Incorporated as a town in 1736, New Brunswick, N.J., is located between New York and Philadelphia, Pa. The original town sat on a key thoroughfare for colonial travelers that was once dubbed the King’s Highway.

Challenge
A mixed-use redevelopment plan was needed for the declining neighborhood just north of the New Brunswick train station. The plan required a design that would complement the historic aesthetics of the Old Queen’s campus of Rutgers University as well as nearby St. Peter’s Roman Catholic Church.

Solution
The developer Devco and the New Brunswick Development Corporation selected Louis Berger to perform civil and environmental engineering for the Gateway project, including concept development, designing, permitting and construction. Louis Berger designed a mixed-use tower of commercial and residential spaces.

The Gateway development was completed in 2012. The finished project includes a residential building with 200 units and garage facility with more than 500 parking spaces. A pedestrian bridge connects the residential tower and Rutgers University’s main artery, College Avenue, to the New Jersey Transit rail station.

The neglected area next to the train station was effectively transformed into a high-density commercial/retail structure that will benefit the city. The new 16-story structure is now the tallest building in New Brunswick.