• JFK terminal, outside night view
  • JetBlue Terminal at JFK
  • JetBlue Terminal at JFK
  • JetBlue Terminal at JFK - inside
  • JetBlue Terminal at JFK - travelers walking
  • People using WiFi connection in rest areas at airport - JFK
  • Travelers waiting for flights
  • loading bridge at JFK airport
  • JFK airport terminal hallway
Expansion de l'aéroport international John F. Kennedy à New York

Les vols commerciaux à John F. Kennedy International Airport de New York (JFK), qui s'appelait alors l'aéroport d'Idlewild, ont commencé en 1948. Aujourd'hui, JFK est l'une des installations aéronautiques les plus fréquentées dans le monde, desservant près de 50 millions de passagers par an.

Défi
Étant donné la formidable croissance de jetBlue au cours des dernières années et, avec New York en guise de siège social, la compagnie aérienne a choisi de construire une installation moderne, construite à cet effet, pour répondre à son calendrier de vols agressif.

Solution
Ammann & Whitney, une entreprise Louis Berger, a été choisie par jetBlue Airways Corporation pour fournir des services de conception structurelle pour la construction du terminal à 26 portes de jetBlue à JFK. Le terminal de 465 000 pieds carrés (43 200 mètres carrés) comprend un tronçon élevé sans joints de 750 pieds (228 mètres) qui fonctionne comme le toit du hall de réception des bagages. Ouvert en 2008, le terminal est capable d'accueillir 46 000 passagers par jour, sur 500 vols entrants et sortants, et environ 20 millions de passagers par an.

En 2012, JetBlue a de nouveau sélectionné Ammann & Whitney pour fournir des services de conception structurelle pour agrandir le terminal à 30 portes et fournir toutes les facilités douanières. L'installation agrandie, T5i, a ouvert en novembre 2014.

Solutions for a better world

jetBlue Terminal at JFK | New York, US

  • JFK terminal, outside night view
  • JetBlue Terminal at JFK
  • JetBlue Terminal at JFK
  • JetBlue Terminal at JFK - inside
  • JetBlue Terminal at JFK - travelers walking
  • People using WiFi connection in rest areas at airport - JFK
  • Travelers waiting for flights
  • loading bridge at JFK airport
  • JFK airport terminal hallway
Expanding New York’s John F. Kennedy International Airport

Commercial flights at New York’s John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK), then called Idlewild Airport, began in 1948. Today, JFK is one of the world’s busiest aviation facilities, serving nearly 50 million passengers annually.

Challenge
Given jetBlue’s tremendous growth in recent years, and with New York as its corporate home, the airline chose to construct a modern, purpose built facility to meet their aggressive flight schedule.

Solution
Ammann & Whitney, a Louis Berger company, was selected by jetBlue Airways Corporation to provide structural engineering services for the construction of the 26-gate jetBlue Terminal at JFK. The 465,000 square foot terminal includes an elevated 750-foot jointless roadway that functions as the roof of the baggage claim hall. Opened in 2008, the terminal is capable of accommodating 46,000 passengers per day, on 500 inbound and outbound flights, and approximately 20 million passengers per year.

In 2012, jetBlue again selected Ammann & Whitney to provide structural engineering services to expand the terminal to 30 gates and provide full customs facilities. The expanded facility, T5i, opened in November of 2014.