• A man and two women lean intently over a large map.
  • Two young children walk down a dirt and gravel road.
  • A motorcycle with sidecar drives down a dirt road.
  • A woman sits in front of a large computer screen.
  • A woman sits at a computer as another stands beside her, speaking and pointing at the screen.
  • Two men paint bright yellow striped on road guardrails.
Amélioration des routes locales et de la gouvernance locale

Les Philippines sont un pays composé de plus de 7000 îles dans l'ouest de l'océan Pacifique. Le pays dispose d'une économie en essor mais sa croissance est limitée par une infrastructure de transport relativement sous-développée.

Défi
L'infrastructure de transport inadéquate des Philippines est le résultat de faibles investissements, d'une faible capacité gouvernementale et d'une mauvaise gouvernance. Pour augmenter la capacité des gouvernements locaux à développer et à maintenir leurs réseaux routiers provinciaux, il est nécessaire d'augmenter le revenu local et de développer la capacité en gestion de projets, conception de projets, achats, systèmes de contrôle internes, systèmes de ressources humaines, planification et budgétisation, et gestion des dépenses.

Solution
Le ministère du commerce et des affaires étrangères (DFAT) du gouvernement australien a engagé Louis Berger pour mettre en œuvre le Programme de gestion des routes de province, un programme de réforme de la gestion des routes concentré sur le développement de la capacité du ministère du gouvernement interne et local (DILG) des Philippines et de dix unités gouvernementales locales provinciales. Le programme fait la promotion de la croissance économique et améliore l'accès des communautés aux services provinciaux publics et privés dans le sud des Philippines en :

  • aidant à améliorer la gestion des routes locales et les systèmes routiers provinciaux
  • développant un programme national d'incitation à la gestion des routes locales pour que les provinces puissent mieux entretenir leurs routes
  • réhabilitant et en élargissant la maintenance des réseaux routiers principaux dans les provinces partenaires.

L'amélioration de la planification, de la conception, des achats et de l'exécution des ouvrages résultent en des budgets étirés et une augmentation substantielle de la quantité et de la qualité des réseaux routiers dans les dix provinces partenaires. Ces réseaux routiers améliorés augmentent les opportunités économiques et renforcent l'accès aux services en général. Le programme a également apporté une plus grande transparence et une responsabilité accrue du gouvernement provincial dans la gestion des routes locales, en permettant aux citoyens d'avoir plus de poids dans le processus.

• A man and two women lean intently over a large map.
  • Two young children walk down a dirt and gravel road.
  • A motorcycle with sidecar drives down a dirt road.
  • A woman sits in front of a large computer screen.
  • A woman sits at a computer as another stands beside her, speaking and pointing at the screen.
  • Two men paint bright yellow striped on road guardrails.
Improving local roads and local governance

The Philippines is a country made up of over 7,000 islands in the western Pacific Ocean. The country has a growing economy but its growth is constrained by relatively underdeveloped transportation infrastructure.

Challenge
Inadequate transportation infrastructure in the Philippines is the result of low investment, weak government capacity and poor governance. To increase the ability of local governments to develop and maintain their provincial road networks, there is a need to increase local revenue and to develop capacity in project management, project design, procurement, internal control systems, human resource systems, planning and budgeting, and expenditure management.

Solution
The Australian government’s Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) engaged Louis Berger to implement the Provincial Road Management Facility program, a roads management reform program focused on building the capacity of the Philippines Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) and ten provincial local government units. The program is promoting economic growth and improving community access to provincial public and private services in the Southern Philippines by:

  • Helping to improve local roads management and provincial roads systems.
  • Developing a national incentives program on local roads management for provinces to better maintain roads.
  • Rehabilitating and expanding maintenance of the core road networks in partner provinces.

Improved planning, design, procurement, and works execution are resulting in budgets that stretch further and a substantial increase in the quantity and quality of the road networks in the ten partner provinces. These improved road networks are increasing economic opportunity and strengthening access to services generally. The program also has brought greater provincial government transparency and accountability into the management of local roads, allowing citizens a greater voice in the process.