• Tropical concept rendering for Soto Cano Air Base in Honduras

    Tropical Concept Rendering

  • Tropical concept plan for Soto Cano Air Base in Honduras

    Tropical Concept Plan

  • Tropical concept section for Soto Cano Air Base in Honduras

    Tropical Concept Section

  • Concept Rendering of foliage screen for Soto Cano Air Base in Honduras

    Foliage Screen

  • Concept Rendering of multi-use path for Soto Cano Air Base in Honduras

    Multi-use Path

Conception d'instructions compatibles avec le climat sur une base aérienne tropicale

La base aérienne de Soto Cano au Honduras est au cœur de la coopération américaine avec les nations alliées en matière de sécurité, d'aide humanitaire et de secours d'urgence en Amérique centrale et en Amérique du Sud ainsi qu'aux Caraïbes. C'est une mission ancrée par le maintien et les opérations sur l'espace aérien dans cette zone.

Défi Le co
mmandement de gestion des installations a été confronté aux défis liés au climat tropical, à la disponibilité de la main d'œuvre locale et des matériaux pour la construction et la maintenance, ainsi qu'à la nature éphémère des installations et des opérations. Conjointement avec les ingénieurs de l'Armée américaine, il s'est tourné vers Louis Berger pour développer des plans et instructions sur mesure pour répondre aux besoins unique de cette installation.

Solution
Louis Berger a préparé le plan de vision de l'installation, les normes de planification de l'installation, et deux plans de développement de zones pour les quartiers industriels et le champ d'aviation de la base aérienne de Soto Cano.

  • Le plan directeur pour Soto Cano garantit une analyse et une orientation pour le développement à venir des bâtiments, des rues, des infrastructures écologiques afin de créer des bâtiments plus durables et écoénergétiques, un environnement de travail plus sécurisé, de meilleures ressources sociales et de loisirs, en toute compatibilité avec nos hôtes du Honduras.
  • Un plan de réseau de transport et des normes pour le placement des bâtiments avaient isolé les véhicules lourds et tactiques d'une part, et les piétons et les routes EZGO de l'autre.
  • Le plan d'infrastructure écologique a instauré des normes d'intégration d'une hiérarchie d'espaces ouverts, afin d'encourager l'interaction sociale, la santé physique et mentale, et la préservation de la végétation naturelle et des ressources en eau.
  • Les normes de construction compatibles avec le climat ont encouragé une ventilation naturelle, des matériaux résistant aux parasites, et des méthodes de construction pouvant être appliquées par la population locale.
  • Les plans de développement de la zone ont organisés les quartiers industriels et le terrain d'aviation selon des flux continus et des empreintes compactes plus faciles à sécuriser, une meilleure cohabitation avec les piétons et une plus grande responsabilité des flux de travail.

• Tropical concept rendering for Soto Cano Air Base in Honduras

    Tropical Concept Rendering

  • Tropical concept plan for Soto Cano Air Base in Honduras

    Tropical Concept Plan

  • Tropical concept section for Soto Cano Air Base in Honduras

    Tropical Concept Section

  • Concept Rendering of foliage screen for Soto Cano Air Base in Honduras

    Foliage Screen

  • Concept Rendering of multi-use path for Soto Cano Air Base in Honduras

    Multi-use Path

Designing climate-appropriate guidelines for a tropical air base

The Soto Cano Air Base in Honduras is the hub of US cooperation with partner nations for security, humanitarian assistance and disaster relief in Central and South America and the Caribbean – a mission anchored by the sustainment and operation of the airfield there.

Challenge
Faced with the challenges of tropical climate, local availability of labor and materials for construction and maintenance, and the non-permanent nature of the facilities and operations, Installation Management Command, in coordination with the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, turned to Louis Berger to develop tailored plans and guidelines that would meet the installation’s unique needs.

Solution
Louis Berger prepared the Installation Vision Plan, installation Planning Standards, and two Area Development Plans for the Industrial and Airfield districts at Soto Cano Air Base.

  • The master plan for Soto Cano provides analysis and guidance for future development of buildings, streets, and green infrastructure with the goal of creating more sustainable, energy efficient facilities, a safer work environment, greater social and recreational resources, and compatibility with the Honduran hosts.
  • A transportation network plan and standards for building placement separated heavy and tactical vehicles from pedestrian and EZ-GO routes.
  • The Green Infrastructure plan introduced standards for integrating a hierarchy of open spaces to promote social interaction, physical and mental health, and preservation of the natural vegetation and water resources.
  • Climate appropriate building standards encouraged natural ventilation, pest-resistant materials, and construction methods that could be supported by the local population.
  • Area Development Plans organized the industrial districts and airfield around streamlined workflows and compact footprints that were more easily secured, had better pedestrian accommodation, and improved accountability of the work flows.