• aerial view of Ghazni Highway in Afghanistan
  • paving equipment on highway
  • Kajakai Dam in Afghanistan
  • Qala-e-Qazimodel Clinic in Kabul
  • Sar-e-Haus Dam
  • afghan laborers
  • steamroller on unpaved road
  • paving equipment on highway
  • steamroller on paved road
  • military guard personnel on alert
  • afghan laborers working on dam
  • dog demining field in Afghanistan
  • Kajakai Dam in Afghanistan
De nouvelles routes, installations et de nouveaux barrages transforment l'Afghanistan

L'Afghanistan est un pays montagneux situé en Asie centrale et du Sud avec une population de 30 millions d'habitants. L'Afghanistan est une république islamique restée largement inexploitée en raison de guerres multiples.

Défi
Les infrastructures du pays, notamment ses routes, ponts et barrages, avaient souffert après des années de détériorations dues à un manque d'entretien et aux troubles civils. Les écoles et les installations médicales de la nation étaient également en mauvais état.

Solution
Une action de grande ampleur pour reconstruire les infrastructures du pays, le Programme de réhabilitation des services et équipements économiques a été mené par l'agence américaine pour le développement international (USAID) en 2002. L'USAID a choisi Louis Berger pour gérer le programme.

Louis Berger a supervisé la conception et la construction de plus de 1500 km d'axes principaux, secondaires et de voies urbaines, y compris la reconstruction du périphérique national de l'Afghanistan autour de la moitié sud du pays, les autoroutes de Kaboul à Kandahar et de Kandahar à Herat. En plus du travail essentiel sur le périphérique, Louis Berger a géré la construction de 685 km d'axes secondaires reliant les grands centres de population dans tout l'Afghanistan au périphérique. L'amélioration du réseau routier a considérablement réduit les temps de déplacement, stimulé le commerce et amélioré l'accès aux soins de santé et aux écoles.

Le programme de réhabilitation en Afghanistan comprenait également :

  • la mise à niveau de la centrale hydroélectrique Kajakai Dam
  • la réparation et la mise à niveau de cinq grands barrages et systèmes d'irrigation
  • la construction de 93 écoles et de cliniques
  • l'embauche et la formation d'Afghans pour réaliser des travaux

Solutions for a better world

Rehabilitation of Economic Facilities and Services Program | Afghanistan

  • aerial view of Ghazni Highway in Afghanistan
  • paving equipment on highway
  • Kajakai Dam in Afghanistan
  • Qala-e-Qazimodel Clinic in Kabul
  • Sar-e-Haus Dam
  • afghan laborers
  • steamroller on unpaved road
  • paving equipment on highway
  • steamroller on paved road
  • military guard personnel on alert
  • afghan laborers working on dam
  • dog demining field in Afghanistan
  • Kajakai Dam in Afghanistan
New roads, dams and facilities transform Afghanistan

Afghanistan is a mountainous country located in south-central Asia with a population of 30 million people. An Islamic republic, Afghanistan has remained largely undeveloped due to multiple wars.

Challenge
The country’s infrastructure — including its roads, bridges and dams — had suffered through years of deterioration due to neglected maintenance and civil strife. The nation’s schools and medical facilities were also in poor condition.

Solution
A large-scale effort to rebuild the country’s infrastructure, the Rehabilitation of Economic Facilities and Services Program was launched by the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) in 2002. USAID selected Louis Berger to manage the program.

Louis Berger oversaw the design and construction of more than 1,500 kilometers of primary, secondary and urban roads, including reconstruction of Afghanistan’s national Ring Road around the southern half of the country – the Kabul to Kandahar and Kandahar to Herat highways. In addition to the critical work on the Ring Road, Louis Berger managed construction of 685 kilometers of secondary roads, connecting major population centers throughout Afghanistan to the Ring Road. The improved road network dramatically reduced travel times, boosted trade and improved access to health care and schools.

The rehabilitation program in Afghanistan also included:

  • Upgrading the Kajakai Dam hydropower plant.
  • Repairing and upgrading five major dams and irrigation systems.
  • Building 93 schools and clinics.
  • Hiring and training local Afghans to implement the work.