• Architectural rendering of King Abdullah Financial District Metro Station exterior in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

    Courtesy of Zaha Hadid Architects

  • Architectural rendering of King Abdullah Financial District Metro Station exterior in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

    Courtesy of Zaha Hadid Architects

  • Architectural rendering of King Abdullah Financial District Metro Station exterior in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

    Courtesy of Zaha Hadid Architects

  • Architectural rendering of King Abdullah Financial District Metro Station exterior in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

    Courtesy of Zaha Hadid Architects

Un système ferroviaire public répond aux besoins de transport en commun à Riyad

Riyad, la capitale de l'Arabie Saoudite, est un centre dynamique du commerce et du gouvernement situé sur un grand plateau au milieu de la péninsule arabique. Se classant parmi les villes dont la croissance est la plus rapide dans le monde, Riyad est le foyer de plus de 5 millions d'habitants.

Défi
La congestion de la circulation dans la capitale d'Arabie Saoudite est une préoccupation croissante pour les résidents et les visiteurs, et un obstacle potentiel à une croissance économique continue. Un système de transport en commun rapide de pointe, entièrement automatisé, est un composant principal des efforts du Royaume pour faciliter une croissance économique robuste tout en offrant à la population de Riyad un haut niveau de service.

Solution
Louis Berger, en qualité d'entreprise principale dans une co-entreprise avec Hill International, a obtenu un contrat auprès des autorités chargées du développement d'Arriyadh pour fournir des services de gestion de programmes et de construction pour le Package 3 du projet de Métro de Riyad. Le Package 3 est un projet de 8 milliards de dollars impliquant la gestion de la conception et de la construction des lignes 4, 5 et 6, ainsi que 22 stations, dans le nouveau système de métro. Ces trois lignes comprennent :

  • 67 km de voies
  • 48 km d'alignement élevé
  • 5,5 km de tunnel creusé
  • près de 13 km de tunnel foré.

La Ligne 4 sera reliée à l'aéroport international King Khalid. La Ligne 5 passera dans un tunnel le long de la rue du Roi Abdulaziz, entre le centre historique du Roi Abdulaziz et la base aérienne de Riyad. La Ligne 6 marchera en un demi-cercle du district financier du Roi Abdullah, le long de l'université de l'Imam Mohamed Bin Saud pour se terminer à la route Prince Saad Ibn Abdulrahman Al Awal.

Solutions for a better world

Celebrating 60 Years

Riyadh Metro | Saudi Arabia

  • Courtesy of Zaha Hadid Architects

  • Courtesy of Zaha Hadid Architects

  • Courtesy of Zaha Hadid Architects

  • Courtesy of Zaha Hadid Architects

Public rail system answers transit needs in Riyadh

Riyadh, the capital of Saudi Arabia, is a dynamic center of commerce and government located in the middle of the Arabian Peninsula on a large plateau. Amongst the most rapidly growing cities in the world, Riyadh is home to more than 5 million people.

Challenge
Traffic congestion in Saudi Arabia’s capital is a growing concern for residents and visitors and a potential barrier to continued economic growth. A state-of-the-art, fully automated rapid transit system is a primary component of the Kingdom’s efforts to facilitate robust economic growth while providing Riyadh’s population with a high level of service.

Solution
Louis Berger, as the lead firm in a joint venture with Hill International, was awarded a contract by the Arriyadh Development Authority to provide program and construction management services for Package 3 of the Riyadh Metro project. Package 3 is an $8 billion project involving management of the design and construction of Line 4, Line 5 and Line 6, as well as 22 stations, in the new metro system. These three lines include:

  • 67 kilometers of track.
  • 48 kilometers of elevated alignment.
  • 5.5 kilometers of mined tunnel.
  • Nearly 13 kilometers of bored tunnel.

Line 4 will link to the King Khalid International Airport. Line 5 will run in a tunnel along King Abdulaziz Street, between King Abdulaziz Historical Centre and the Riyadh Airbase. Line 6 will run in a semicircle from King Abdullah Financial District, along Imam Mohamed Bin Saud University and end at Prince Saad Ibn Abdulrahman Al Awal Road.