• aerial view of Stewart International Airport Vernal Pools
  • vernal pool in spring
  • vernal pool in winter
  • turtle on field
  • little green frog on leave
  • salamander
  • wood frog in autumn
  • Stewart International Airport animal crossing
  • deer across field
La mise à niveau de l'aéroport de Newburgh (NY) permet de conserver les bassins vernaux

Les bassins vernaux sont des bassins d'eau temporaires qui peuvent fournir un habitat pour les plantes et les animaux. Le mot « vernal » veut dire printemps, et les bassins sont ainsi nommés parce qu'ils sont souvent les plus profonds pendant cette saison. Les amphibiens sont bien adaptés pour les bassins vernaux parce que les poissons, qui peuvent être prédateurs, ne peuvent pas survivre normalement dans ces bassins. Plusieurs espèces de grenouilles et de salamandres dépendent des bassins vernaux pour la reproduction, et la persistance de chaque population de ces espèces est liée aux bassins vernaux.

Défi
Une amélioration de l'accès était nécessaire pour l'aéroport international Stewart à Newburgh (N.Y.). Pour assurer que les mises à niveau soient faites sans nuire à l'écosystème local de la Stewart State Forest avoisinante, le ministère des transports de l'État de New York a choisi Louis Berger pour atténuer les impacts du projet de construction.

Solution
Le plan d'atténuation de Louis Berger a été développé en collaboration avec des biologistes du ministère de la conservation de l'environnement de l'État de New York. Louis Berger a réalisé des évaluations biologiques et planifié et conçu 12 sites de bassins vernaux et sept passages de faune et d'obstacles amphibiens. Les recommandations ont été utilisées pour établir des lignes directrices en matière de pratiques de construction appropriées dans le but d'atténuer les impacts sur les habitats des bassins vernaux. Un plan de surveillance à long terme a également été préparé et mis en œuvre par Louis Berger après la construction des caractéristiques d'atténuation.

• aerial view of Stewart International Airport Vernal Pools
  • vernal pool in spring
  • vernal pool in winter
  • turtle on field
  • little green frog on leave
  • salamander
  • wood frog in autumn
  • Stewart International Airport animal crossing
  • deer across field
Newburgh, NY, airport upgrade helps conserve vernal pools

Vernal pools are temporary pools of water that can provide habitat for plants and animals. The word “vernal” means spring, and the pools are so named because they are often deepest during that season. Amphibians are well-suited for vernal pools because fish, which can be predatory, cannot normally survive in these pools. Several species of frogs and salamanders are dependent upon vernal pools for reproduction and the persistence of each population of these species is linked to vernal pools.

Challenge
Improved access was needed for the Stewart International Airport in Newburgh, N.Y. To ensure that the upgrades would be made without harming the local ecosystem of nearby Stewart State Forest, the New York State Department of Transportation selected Louis Berger to mitigate the impacts of the construction project.

Solution
Louis Berger’s mitigation plan was developed in collaboration with biologists from the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation. Louis Berger conducted biological assessments and planned and designed 12 vernal pool sites and seven amphibian barrier and wildlife passages. The recommendations were used to establish guidelines for appropriate construction practices in mitigating impacts to vernal pool habitats. A long-term monitoring plan was also prepared and implemented by Louis Berger following construction of the mitigation features.