• Rendering of Complete Street design for Naval Air Station Patuxent River in Maryland, US

    Complete Street

  • Drawing of Complete Street Section for Naval Air Station Patuxent River

    Complete Street Section

  • Photograph of existing road at Naval Air Station Patuxent River

    Existing Road

  • Rendering of Proposed Road for Naval Air Station Patuxent River

    Proposed Road

  • Rendering of streetscape following Low Impact Development guidelines for Naval Air Station Patuxent River

    Low Impact Development

  • Illustration of hydrology rationale for Naval Air Station Patuxent River

    Hydrology Rationale

Encourager une « Croissance intelligente » grâce à des améliorations de transport novatrices

Située à l'embouchure du fleuve Patuxent, la base aéronavale de Patuxent River s'étend sur environ 4 400 mètres carrés. De ce centre d'opérations, plus de 50 activités différentes sont organisées, notamment celles du commandement de la base aéronavale et de la division des avions du centre aéronaval Warfare.

Enjeu :
face à une hausse sans précédent de ses responsabilités, le Commandement d'ingénierie des installations maritimes (NAVFAC) du Naval District Washington (NDW) a chargé Louis Berger de la préparation d'un Programme d'amélioration des transports (TIP) pour la base aéronavale de Patuxent River afin de faciliter la réalisation de l'initiative « Croissance intelligente » pour la région. Le TIP doit réaliser les principaux objectifs concernant la gestion du développement du NDW, conformément à sa vision des transports dans la région et à ses directives au sujet des installations.  L'intégration des recommandations pour l'amélioration des transports à des stratégies de gestion de croissance et de développement limité a nécessité la planification des transports, l'aménagement urbain et des techniques architecturales du paysage, qui ont pris en compte les répercussions environnementaux et humains sur le réseau des transports.

Solution :
Louis Berger a utilisé une méthode interdisciplinaire pour intégrer les facteurs opérationnels dans des solutions de conception répondant aux objectifs urbanistiques et environnementaux. Les recommandations prévoient la connectivité des véhicules et des piétons, ainsi que d'autres options de transport, comme des pistes cyclables et des transports en commun, complémentant les futurs petits centres de développement du programme principal. Les aspects innovants de ce programme comprennent :

  • L'élaboration de « centres de mobilité alternatifs » pour encourager l'usage de transports autres que les véhicules à un seul occupant, aussi bien au sein de l'installation que pour les déplacements.
  • Les dispositions adoptées pour une gestion plus écologique des eaux pluviales, grâce aux meilleures pratiques d'« infrastructures écologiques », comme des directives pour les aires de stationnement visant à une bonne intégration de ces installations dans un réseau piétonnier interconnecté et homogène, la diminution des surfaces imperméables et des éléments paysagers diminuant les impacts négatifs sur l'environnement et l'esthétique.      
  • Des normes d'aménagement de toutes les rues et l'élaboration d'un projet pilote pour les couloirs prioritaires, les voies piétonnes et cyclables et le développement à faible impact.

• Rendering of Complete Street design for Naval Air Station Patuxent River in Maryland, US

    Complete Street

  • Drawing of Complete Street Section for Naval Air Station Patuxent River

    Complete Street Section

  • Photograph of existing road at Naval Air Station Patuxent River

    Existing Road

  • Rendering of Proposed Road for Naval Air Station Patuxent River

    Proposed Road

  • Rendering of streetscape following Low Impact Development guidelines for Naval Air Station Patuxent River

    Low Impact Development

  • Illustration of hydrology rationale for Naval Air Station Patuxent River

    Hydrology Rationale

Fostering “Smart Growth” through innovative transportation improvements

Located at the mouth of the Patuxent River, Naval Air Station (NAS) Patuxent River occupies approximately 14,500 acres and is the host of more than 50 tenant activities, including the Naval Air Station Command and the Naval Air Warfare Center Aircraft Division.

Challenge
Faced with unprecedented growth within its area of responsibility, the Naval Facilities Engineering Command (NAVFAC) Naval District Washington (NDW) commissioned Louis Berger to prepare a Transportation Improvement Plan (TIP) for NAS Patuxent River to facilitate realization of its “Smart Growth” vision for the region. The TIP must execute NDW’s over-arching goals for growth management in alignment with its regional transportation vision and installation guidance.  Integrating recommendations for transportation improvements with strategies for growth management and compact development required transportation planning, urban design and landscape architectural techniques that addressed the environmental and human impacts of the transportation system.

Solution
Louis Berger used an interdisciplinary approach to integrate operational factors into design solutions meeting urban design and environmental objectives. Recommendations provide for vehicular and pedestrian connectivity and alternative transportation options, such as bicycling and transit, which complement the installation master plan’s compact future development centers. Innovative aspects of the plan include:

  • The concept of “alternative mobility hubs” to encourage the use of transportation modes other than single occupancy vehicles, both within the installation and for commuting.
  • Provisions for environmentally preferable stormwater management through a variety of “green infrastructure” best practices, such as parking guidelines to ensure the facilities are well integrated with a consistent, interconnected pedestrian network; reduction of impervious surfaces; and landscape features to reduce negative environmental and aesthetic impacts.      
  • Complete Street design standards and pilot project design for priority corridors, pedestrian and bicycle facilities and low impact development.