• Iraqi shepherd with his sheep
  • An Iraqi farmer walks through a field with growing crops
  • Iraq planting
  • Iraq fishing
  • Iraq vegetable fields
  • Inma farmers
  • Inma eggplant
  • Inma fruit
Le programme a permis l'éclosion du secteur agricole en Irak

La riche histoire de l'Irak remonte à l'ancienne Mésopotamie, berceau de la première civilisation connue. La région située entre les deux grands fleuves, le Tigre et l'Euphrate, est souvent désignée comme étant le « berceau de la civilisation » où l'agriculture est née.

Défi
Au cours des dernières années, l'Irak a été impliqué dans une série de conflits, notamment la guerre Iran–Irak en 1980, la guerre du Golfe en 1990 et la guerre d'Irak en 2003. Cette situation a engendré une instabilité économique et politique.

De 2004 à 2013, l'Agence américaine pour le développement international (USAID) a choisi Louis Berger pour gérer plusieurs projets de relance économique en Irak. Lorsque le Programme Agribusiness Inma de l'USAID a commencé en 2007, l'économie irakienne commençait tout juste à se stabiliser et à montrer des signes de reprise.

Solution
l'Inma, qui signifie « croissance » en arabe, a collaboré avec l'ensemble des parties prenantes pour accroître la compétitivité de l'agriculture et de l'agro-industrie irakiennes, tout en améliorant les moyens d'existence des agriculteurs. Dans ce but, plusieurs objectifs ont été définis :

  • identifier les obstacles à la rentabilité des exploitations agricoles et favoriser la durabilité des entreprises de ce secteur
  • augmenter la productivité tout en réduisant les coûts de production et de commercialisation
  • fournir des conseils techniques à divers groupes agricoles, y compris l'élevage et l'horticulture
  • créer des emplois et des revenus
  • renforcer les capacités des entrepreneurs, des investisseurs et des producteurs irakiens.

Grâce aux efforts de Louis Berger, de l'USAID et du personnel irakien qui a fait preuve d'un courage remarquable, le secteur de l'agriculture est reparti dans tout le pays. Durant ce projet, le Programme Agribusiness Inma de l'USAID a enregistré un montant total de ventes d'environ 181 millions de dollars et a créé plus de 15 000 nouveaux emplois pour les Irakiens.

• Iraqi shepherd with his sheep
  • An Iraqi farmer walks through a field with growing crops
  • Iraq planting
  • Iraq fishing
  • Iraq vegetable fields
  • Inma farmers
  • Inma eggplant
  • Inma fruit
Program sprouts agricultural success in Iraq

Iraq’s rich history dates back to ancient Mesopotamia, home to the world’s first known civilization. The region between Iraq’s two major rivers, the Tigris and Euphrates, is often referred to as the “cradle of civilization" and the birthplace of agriculture.

Challenge
In recent years, Iraq has been embroiled in a series of conflicts, including the Iran–Iraq War in 1980, the Persian Gulf War in 1990 and the Iraq War in 2003, triggering economic instability and political turmoil.

From 2004 to 2013, the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) engaged Louis Berger to manage several economic recovery projects in Iraq. When the USAID Inma Agribusiness Program began in 2007, the Iraqi economy was just beginning to stabilize and show signs of recovery.

Solution
Inma, which means “growth” in Arabic, worked with a spectrum of stakeholders to increase the competitiveness of Iraqi agriculture and agribusinesses while improving the livelihood of farmers, with a focus on:

  • Identifying constraints to farm profitability and increasing the sustainability of agricultural enterprises.
  • Increasing productivity while reducing production and marketing costs.
  • Providing technical and business guidance to diverse agricultural clusters, including livestock/protein and horticulture.
  • Generating rural employment and income.
  • Building the capacity of Iraqi entrepreneurs, investors and producers.

Through the efforts of Louis Berger, USAID and courageous Iraqi staffers, agriculture has rebounded in the country. During the life of the program, the USAID Inma Agribusiness Program recorded approximately $181 million in total sales and created more than 15,000 new jobs for Iraqis.