• Young women in the Punjab region of Pakistan practice operating sewing machines
  • Colorfully dressed women of Punjab, Pakistan display clothing they produced as part of USAID PYWD project
  • Trainees demonstrate technical skills in electronic circuit building
  • Staff and beneficiaries of the USAID Punjab Youth Workforce Development Project in Pakistan, which is implemented by Louis Berger
  • Punjabi woman wearing cap with project logo operates practices operating sewing machine as part of US
  • Staff and trainees of the USAID Punjab Youth Workforce Development Project in Pakistan
Investir chez les jeunes en situation de risque

La faible croissante économique et le système éducatif peu performant, associés à des opportunités économiques limitées au Pakistan, ont contribué à un niveau élevé de chômage chez les jeunes. De grandes inégalités socio-économiques peuvent engendrer des communautés en situation de risque, où l'extrémisme et l'instabilité prospèrent, où les femmes ne peuvent pas suivre de formation professionnelle et avoir la garantie d'un travail et où les jeunes au chômage deviennent des délinquants.

Défi
Les taux de croissance économique actuels au Pakistan ne sont pas suffisament élevés pour que l'économie puisse absorber le million de jeunes qui cherche à entrer sur le marché du travail chaque année. La hausse du chômage chez les jeunes doit être résolue en offrant un meilleur niveau de vie aux « jeunes », qui représentent désormais plus de la moitié de la population totale du pays. La région sud de la province de Punjab, tout comme les autres provinces du Pakistan, pâtit également d'une disparité entre les travailleurs formés et les besoins de l'industrie, créant ainsi un cercle vicieux où les jeunes ne peuvent pas accéder aux opportunités de travail actuelles, alors que le secteur souffre d'une main-d'œuvre avec une productivité faible.

Solution
En 2016, Louis Berger a collaboré avec l'Agence des États-Unis pour le développement international (USAID) afin de mettre en place le projet de Développement d'une main d'œuvre jeune dans la province de Punjab (Punjab Youth Workforce Development, PYWD). Ce projet sur 3 ans vise à former et à faciliter les opportunités de travail pour 10 000 jeunes (35 % de femmes) âgés de 16 à 29 ans dans les régions du sud de la province de Punjab : Multan, Lodhran, Bahawalpur et Muzaffargarh.

Le projet PYWD-USAID regroupe 3 éléments principaux :

  • Participation de la communauté : le projet fait participer les principaux dirigeants, les jeunes et leur famille issus des 4 régions ciblées pour obtenir le soutien de la communauté afin d'élargir des opportunités de travail pour les jeunes ainsi que d'améliorer l'accès aux services de la communauté et à l'expression culturelle.
  • Renforcement des capacités des organismes de formation : le projet renforce la capacité des 22 organismes de formation technique ou professionnelle de la région afin de proposer des cours actualisés et axés sur le marché qui confèrent aux jeunes des compétences qui leur permettent de profiter de nouvelles opportunités de travail.
  • Accès de la main d'œuvre à l'éducation et à la formation : en partenariat avec les principaux organismes de formation, le projet propose aux jeunes des services de réinsertion et d'orientation, et les aide à monter leur propre affaire en leur accordant des prêts de microfinancement sans intérêt.

Dans le cadre de ces activités, le projet de Développement d'une main d'œuvre jeune dans la région de Punjab financé par l'USAID renforce le secteur de l'éducation et de la formation professionnelle et technique, mobilisant ainsi les communautés ciblées et améliorant le niveau de vie des jeunes dans la région sud de la province de Punjab.

• Young women in the Punjab region of Pakistan practice operating sewing machines
  • Colorfully dressed women of Punjab, Pakistan display clothing they produced as part of USAID PYWD project
  • Trainees demonstrate technical skills in electronic circuit building
  • Staff and beneficiaries of the USAID Punjab Youth Workforce Development Project in Pakistan, which is implemented by Louis Berger
  • Punjabi woman wearing cap with project logo operates practices operating sewing machine as part of US
  • Staff and trainees of the USAID Punjab Youth Workforce Development Project in Pakistan
Investing in at-risk youth

In Pakistan, slow economic growth and a poor educational system, combined with limited economic opportunities, have contributed to high levels of youth unemployment. Deep socio-economic inequalities can engender at-risk communities where extremism and instability thrive, where women are restricted from pursuing vocational training and securing jobs, and unemployed youths turn to juvenile crime.

Challenge
Current economic growth rates in Pakistan are insufficient for the economy to absorb the one million youths seeking entry into the workforce each year. Rising youth unemployment must be addressed to provide a better standard of living for the “youth bulge,” which now comprises more than half of the country’s total population. Southern Punjab, like the rest of Pakistan, also suffers from a mismatch between trained workers and the needs of industry, creating a vicious cycle in which youth are unable to access existing workforce opportunities while industry suffers from a labor force with low productivity.

Solution
In 2016, Louis Berger partnered with the United States Agency for International Development (USAID) to implement the Punjab Youth Workforce Development (PYWD) project. The three-year project aims to train and facilitate employment opportunities for 10,000 youths (35 percent women) between the ages of 16 and 29 in the southern Punjab districts of Multan, Lodhran, Bahawalpur and Muzaffargarh.

The USAID-PYWD project comprises three main components:

  • Community engagement: The project engages key leaders, youth and their families in the four target districts to build community support for expanding youth employment opportunities and strengthening outlets for community service and cultural expression.
  • Institutional capacity building: The project is strengthening the capacity of 22 local technical or vocational institutions to provide updated, market-driven courses that equip youth with skills that will allow them to take advantage of emerging job opportunities.
  • Access to workforce education and training: In partnership with leading training providers, the project provides job placements as well as career counseling services to youth and assists them in starting their own businesses by providing interest-free microfinance loans.

Through such activities, the USAID Punjab Youth Workforce Development project is enhancing the technical and vocational education and training sector, mobilizing target communities and improving the standard of living for youth in southern Punjab.