Organisme: 
American Public Works Association (APWA)
Client: 
Regional Transportation Commission of Southern Nevada
Projet: 
Le Mobility Training Center de la Regional Transportation Commission of Southern Nevada

L'American Public Works Association (APWA) a nommé le Mobility Training Center (MTC) de la Regional Transportation Commission of Southern Nevada (RTC) comme étant le Projet de l'année 2018, dans la catégorie Structures valant entre 5 à 25 millions d'USD. Louis Berger et sa filiale BergerABAM ont fourni des services de conception de structures et de sites publics pour le projet du centre de formation dernier cri de 14 700 mètres carrés, pour un coût total de 6,7 millions d'USD.

Ce centre de formation à la mobilité, construit en plus de l'infrastructure RTC Sunset Maintenance à Las Vegas, dans le Nevada, vise à accroître la mobilité des habitants du sud du Nevada, notamment les résidents et personnes âgés à la mobilité réduite. La seule en son genre dans l'ouest des États-Unis, cette infrastructure offre des scénarios de vie réelle destinés à enseigner aux résidents les aptitudes essentielles en termes de déplacement, et d'améliorer leur capacité à accéder tout seul et à utiliser les services de transport à itinéraire fixe de la RTC. La structure composée d'un étage comprend des bureaux, des classes, des salles de conférence, deux bus, un trottoir, un appartement témoin, une résidence et des paysages urbains fictifs, qui imitent les conditions de chargement des bus sur les rues publiques.

Au sein de cette infrastructure est présenté le programme d'aide au transport Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) de la RTC destiné aux personnes ayant des troubles cognitifs et physiques, et la Maison d'Angela, un service d'informations pour les malvoyants. Grâce à ces informations, le MTC est en mesure de dispenser des formations sur la mobilité, d'évaluer et de certifier les transports adaptés ainsi que des formations techniques aux aveugles, telles que la vie quotidienne, la mobilité, les soins personnels, la communication, les technologies et le braille.

Le programme de l'American Public Works Association récompense chaque année des personnes, groupes ou sections extraordinaires, qui représentent le meilleur dans les professions des travaux publics. L'APWA a distingué avec le prix, Projet de l'année, la collaboration entre l'organisme de gestion, le consultant/l'architecte/l'ingénieur et le fournisseur, afin de promouvoir la gestion et l'administration des projets de travaux publics.

Agency: 
American Public Works Association (APWA)
Client: 
Regional Transportation Commission of Southern Nevada
Project: 
Regional Transportation Commission of Southern Nevada Mobility Training Center

The Regional Transportation Commission of Southern Nevada (RTC) Mobility Training Center (MTC) was named the 2018 Project of the Year in the Structures $5 Million to $25 Million category by the American Public Works Association (APWA). Louis Berger and our subsidiary BergerABAM provided site civil and structural design services for the 14,700-square-foot state-of-the-art training facility with a total project cost of $6.7 million.

The transit mobility center, built as an addition to the RTC Sunset Maintenance facility in Las Vegas, Nevada, aims to increase mobility among southern Nevadans, especially senior residents and persons with disabilities. The only one of its kind in the western U.S., the facility provides real-life scenarios designed to teach essential transit skills to residents, and improve their ability to independently access and navigate the RTC’s fixed route transit service. The one-story structure consists of offices, classrooms, conference areas, two buses, a sidewalk, a simulated apartment area, a residence and faux streetscapes that simulate bus loading conditions on public streets.

Housed within the facility are the RTC’s Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) paratransit eligibility program for the cognitively and physically challenged, and Angela’s House, a service resource for the visually impaired. With these resources, the MTC is able to provide mobility training, paratransit assessment and certification, and blindness skills training, like daily living, mobility, personal care, communication, technology and braille.

The American Public Works Association’s awards program annually recognizes outstanding individuals, groups, or chapters representing the best in the public works professions. The APWA established the Project of the Year award to promote excellence in the management and administration of public works projects by recognizing the alliance between the managing agency, consultant/architect/engineer and the contractor.