• Train on rails
  • Crane at terminal
  • workers at rail
  • workers on hydraulic lifter
  • worker on rail
  • workers on hydraulic lifter
  • workers under bridge
  • Workers on hydraulic lifter under bridge
  • View of train on bridge
  • View from train window
  • View from window
Les inspections de AirTrain améliorent la sécurité et l'efficacité

Un système de navette automatisé [automated people mover] (APM) est un système de transport en commun dénivelé entièrement automatisé. Le terme renvoie généralement à tout système qui déplace un nombre relativement restreint de personnes entre deux ou plusieurs destinations peu éloignées, comme les allers-retours vers les terminaux, aires de transit et de stationnement à l'aéroport.

Défi

AirTrain Newark et AirTrain JFK sont les deux systèmes APM qui facilitent respectivement la circulation des passagers à destination, en provenance ou à l'intérieur de l'aéroport international Liberty de Newark dans le New Jersey et l'aéroport international John F. Kennedy à New York. Pour assurer la sécurité et l'efficacité continues des APM, l'Autorité portuaire de New York et du New Jersey a chargé Ammann & Whitney, une filiale de Louis Berger, de procéder à des inspections des deux systèmes.

Solution

À l'aéroport international Newark Liberty, Ammann & Whitney a inspecté environ quatre milles (6,4 km) de la voie de guidage AirTrain Newark entre les aérogares et les parkings ainsi que plus de deux milles (3,2 km) de la voie de guidage d'extension Northeast Corridor. À l'aéroport JFK, l'entreprise a inspecté le tronçon « Central Terminal », long de 3,6 milles (5,8 km), qui fait partie de la ligne « Howard Beach » de la structure de guidage de JFK AirTrain.

Après les inspections, Ammann & Whitney a préparé des recommandations pour la réparation des défauts existants et l'entretien des structures de voie de guidage à l'avenir.

Au total, près de 20 000 passagers prennent les deux AirTrains tous les jours.

• Train on rails
  • Crane at terminal
  • workers at rail
  • workers on hydraulic lifter
  • worker on rail
  • workers on hydraulic lifter
  • workers under bridge
  • Workers on hydraulic lifter under bridge
  • View of train on bridge
  • View from train window
  • View from window
AirTrain inspections increase safety and efficiency

An automated people mover (APM) is a fully automated, grade-separated mass transit system. The term generally refers to any system that accommodates a relatively small number of people between two or more destinations of comparatively short distances, such as to and from terminals, transit and parking areas on airport properties.

Challenge

AirTrain Newark and AirTrain JFK are the two APM systems that facilitate passenger movement to, from and within the Newark Liberty International Airport in New Jersey and John F. Kennedy International Airport in New York, respectively. To ensure the continued safety and efficiency of the APMs, the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey commissioned Ammann & Whitney, a Louis Berger company, to conduct inspections of the two systems.

Solution

At Newark Liberty International Airport, Ammann & Whitney completed the inspection of approximately four miles of the AirTrain Newark guideway between the facility’s terminals and parking lots as well as more than two miles of the Northeast Corridor extension guideway. At JFK, the firm inspected the 3.6-mile-long Central Terminal portion of the Howard Beach line sections of the JFK AirTrain guideway structure.

Following the inspections, Ammann & Whitney prepared recommendations for repairing existing deficiencies and maintaining the guideway structures in the future.

Combined, nearly 20,000 passengers ride the two AirTrains daily.