• Construction photo taken during expansion of Arnold Waste Water Treatment in Anne Arundel County, Maryland
  • Technician installs raw water conduit
  • Expansion of Arnold Water Treatment Plant, shown during construction
  • Construction workers install sidewalk at expanded Arnold Water Treatment Plant in Maryland
  • Construction photo taken during expansion of Arnold Waste Water Treatment in Anne Arundel County, Maryland
Capacité doublée pour une usine de traitement des eaux du Maryland

L'usine de traitement des eaux Arnold, dans le comté d'Anne Arundel, dans le Maryland, est située sur la péninsule Broadneck, délimitée au nord par le fleuve Magothy, au sud par le fleuve Severn, et à l'est par la baie de Chesapeake. Cette usine fournit une eau traitée aux zones de service du Broadneck et de Severndale.

Défi
L'usine de traitement des eaux est devenue obsolète et nécessite un entretien fréquent. Afin de faire face à la croissance de la population dans la péninsule, il était nécessaire de disposer d'une plus grande capacité pour augmenter la fourniture d'eau dans la partie nord du comté et pour réduire les achats d'eau traitée.

Après avoir décidé que la solution la moins risquée et la plus rentable consistait à remettre au goût du jour et à développer l'exploitation existante, le Comté a confié à Louis Berger la gestion de la construction et les services d'inspection de l'agrandissement de 23 millions de dollars pour l'usine Arnold de traitement des eaux. Louis Berger est chargé de la construction de quatre projets en simultané, dont la construction de puits d'eau non traitée et des abris pour les puits, et des conduites pour acheminer l'eau non traitée vers l'usine.

Solution
Parmi les composants construits au cours de l'agrandissement, on compte trois aérateurs, trois mélangeurs rapides, des canaux de distribution, quatre bassins de floculation et de sédimentation, six unités de filtrage et une mise à niveau de la collecte de données et du contrôle de l'exploitation. L'agrandissement a doublé la capacité de l'usine, qui est passée de 30 à 60 millions de litres par jour.

Pour assurer le suivi du projet et en minimiser les coûts, Louis Berger a utilisé son système de gestion en ligne, qui permet à l'entrepreneur et à l'ingénieur de faire part de leur progression en ligne.

Parmi les autres services assurés par Louis Berger, on compte le développement et le suivi de l'agenda, la gestion du contrôle des dépenses, des devis indépendants, l'implantation/la surveillance de la construction, le contrôle qualité, et les inspections.  Louis Berger garantit également un forum d'échange informel pour résoudre tous les problèmes du projet et éviter les réclamations.

• Construction photo taken during expansion of Arnold Waste Water Treatment in Anne Arundel County, Maryland
  • Technician installs raw water conduit
  • Expansion of Arnold Water Treatment Plant, shown during construction
  • Construction workers install sidewalk at expanded Arnold Water Treatment Plant in Maryland
  • Construction photo taken during expansion of Arnold Waste Water Treatment in Anne Arundel County, Maryland
Capacity doubled at water treatment plant in Maryland

The Arnold Water Treatment Plant in Anne Arundel County, Maryland, is situated on the Broadneck Peninsula, bounded on the north by the Magothy River, south by the Severn River and east by the Chesapeake Bay. The plant provides finished water to the Broadneck and Severndale service areas.

Challenge
The water treatment plant had become antiquated and required frequent maintenance. In order to keep up with the peninsula’s growing population, it required greater capacity to increase water supply to the northern part of the county and reduce purchase of finished water.

Deciding that that the most cost effective, low risk option was to upgrade and expand the existing facility, the County selected Louis Berger to provide construction management and inspection services for the $23 million expansion of the Arnold Water Treatment Plant. Louis Berger was responsible for the construction of four projects simultaneously, including construction of raw water production wells and well houses, and raw water lines to the treatment facility.

Solution
Components built during expansion included three aerators, two rapid mixers, an expanded influent channel, four flocculation and sedimentation basins, six filter process units and a plant-wide supervisory control and data acquisition upgrade. The expansion effectively doubled plant capacity from 8 million to 16 million gallons per day.

To keep track of the project and minimize costs, Louis Berger used its web-based management system that allowed the contractor and engineer-of-record to report their progress online.

Other services provided by Louis Berger included schedule development and maintenance, cost control management, independent estimates, construction stakeout/survey, quality control, and inspections.  Louis Berger also provided a forum for informal exchanges to resolve any project issues and avoid claims.