• road to Samana in Dominican Republic
  • paved road to Samana in Dominican Republic
  • paved road to Samana in Dominican Republic
  • traffic workers on road to San Pedro de Macoris
  • toll plaza at Samana road in the Dominican Republic
  • toll plaza under construction
  • steamroller on unpaved road
  • unpaved road
  • bridge construction over river
  • construction of bridge over river with crane in the background
Une autoroute fournit un accès rapide aux zones touristiques de la République dominicaine

La République dominicaine est une destination touristique de premier choix dans les Caraïbes, attirant plus de 4 millions de personnes chaque année vers ses plages et stations balnéaires. Depuis 1964, Louis Berger travaille sur une variété de projets en République dominicaine en partenariat avec le gouvernement et des entités privées.

Défi
Le temps de déplacement était long entre la capitale de Saint-Domingue, avec une population de 2,2 millions d'habitants, et la province nord de Samaná, où le potentiel touristique est considérable. En 2001, Autopista del Nordeste C. X A. a été créée en vertu d'un accord de 30 ans pour concevoir, construire, exploiter et entretenir une autoroute de 106 km entre Saint-Domingue et la province de Samaná.

Solution
Le concessionnaire a chargé Louis Berger de servir d'ingénieur indépendant sur l'Autopista del Nordeste, pour un montant de 150 millions de dollars. Pendant la construction, Louis Berger a aidé le concessionnaire à réaliser le projet selon les spécifications, les délais et dans les limites du budget. Louis Berger prend actuellement en charge l'exploitation et l'entretien des routes et des ponts achevés.

Louis Berger a également servi d'ingénieur indépendant pour le Boulevard Turístico del Atlántico, récemment terminé et financé par la Banque interaméricaine de développement. En collaboration avec l'Autopista del Nordeste, la route a réduit le temps de déplacement de cinq heures entre Saint-Domingue et la péninsule de Samaná à moins de deux heures.

• road to Samana in Dominican Republic
  • paved road to Samana in Dominican Republic
  • paved road to Samana in Dominican Republic
  • traffic workers on road to San Pedro de Macoris
  • toll plaza at Samana road in the Dominican Republic
  • toll plaza under construction
  • steamroller on unpaved road
  • unpaved road
  • bridge construction over river
  • construction of bridge over river with crane in the background
Expressway provides fast access to tourist areas of Dominican Republic

The Dominican Republic is a prime tourist destination in the Caribbean, attracting more than 4 million people annually to its beaches and resorts. Louis Berger has worked on a variety of projects in the Dominican Republic since 1964 in partnership with the government and private entities.

Challenge
Travel time was lengthy between the capital city of Santo Domingo, population 2.2 million, and the northern province of Samaná, which has great tourism potential. In 2001, Autopista del Nordeste C. X A. was established under a 30-year agreement to design, build, operate and maintain a 106-kilometer expressway in between Santa Domingo and Samaná province.

Solution
The concessionaire commissioned Louis Berger to serve as independent engineer on the $150 million Autopista del Nordeste. During construction, Louis Berger assisted the concessionaire in completing the project according to specifications, on time and within budget. Louis Berger currently supports the operation and maintenance of the completed roads and bridges.

Louis Berger also served as independent engineer for the recently completed  Boulevard Turístico del Atlántico, funded by the Inter-American Development Bank. In conjunction with the Autopista del Nordeste, the roadway has reduced travel time between Santo Domingo and the Samaná Peninsula from five hours to less than two hours.