• Building of structures to divert CSO out of an existing trunk sewer in Division C of DC Water Clean Rivers program
  • Construction crew install sewer pipe
  • Division E of DC Water Clean Rivers Program, a design-bid-build CSO diversion structure and tunnel system.
  • Installing a 30-inch blue PVC lead pipe on M street, DC Water Clean Rivers Program.
  • Blue PVC pipe on fusing machine on M Street, DC Water Clean Rivers program
Nettoyage des fleuves de Washington, DC

Le fleuve Potomac et ses affluents, le Rock Creek et l'Anacostia, traversent Washington D.C., garantissant une vie faunique, des opportunités de loisirs, et une beauté scénique à la capitale de la nation.

Défi
Les débordements d'égouts provoqués par les eaux pluviales et usées polluent le Potomac et ses affluents depuis plusieurs années. Par conséquent, il a fallu un programme de contrôle des émissions à grande échelle pour récupérer l'eau et la purifier avant qu'elle ne rejoigne les trois cours d'eau.

Solution
Le District de Columbia a créé le programme DC Water Clean Rivers pour réduire la pollution du Rock Creek, de l'Anacostia et du Potomac sur 20 ans. Ce programme par jugement convenu à 2,6 millards de dollars, exigé par l'agence américaine de protection de l'environnement, élimine les polluants dangereux pour le public et la vie sauvage.

Louis Berger assure la gestion de la construction et de l'inspection, l'assurance qualité, le contrôle du projet et l'inspection environnementale pour ce programme. Louis Berger est également chargé des trois zones du programme de contrôle à long terme (LTCP) pour limiter les déversements dans les voies fluviales de Washington :

  • la zone A du programme est constituée du Tunnel Blue Plains, qui mesure 8 kilomètres de long, à 43 mètres de profondeurs pour 7 mètres de diamètre intérieur. Il est le premier des principaux nouveaux tunnels du LTCP à retenir et stocker les débordements.
  • la zone C comprend la construction de structures pour dévier les débordement d'égout à l'extérieur d'un collecteur principal existant pour les diriger vers le future système de tunnels du fleuve Anacostia.
  • la zone E est une structure de déviation en conception-construction ainsi qu'un système de tunnels dans la zone de la M Street et de la 12ème rue au sud-est de Washington D.C.

• Building of structures to divert CSO out of an existing trunk sewer in Division C of DC Water Clean Rivers program
  • Construction crew install sewer pipe
  • Division E of DC Water Clean Rivers Program, a design-bid-build CSO diversion structure and tunnel system.
  • Installing a 30-inch blue PVC lead pipe on M street, DC Water Clean Rivers Program.
  • Blue PVC pipe on fusing machine on M Street, DC Water Clean Rivers program
Cleaning up rivers in Washington, DC

The Potomac River and its tributaries, Rock Creek and the Anacostia River, pass through Washington, D.C., providing wildlife habitats, recreational opportunities and scenic beauty in the nation's capital.

Challenge
Combined sewer overflow (CSO) from sanitary and storm water polluted the Potomac and its tributaries for several years, creating the need for a large scale discharge control program to capture and purify water before it reached the three waterways.

Solution
The District of Columbia formed the DC Water Clean Rivers Program to reduce pollution in Rock Creek and the Anacostia and Potomac rivers over a 20-year period. The $2.6 billion consent decree program, required by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, is removing pollutants harmful to the public and wildlife.

Louis Berger is providing construction and inspection management, quality assurance, project controls, and environmental inspection for the program. Louis Berger is responsible for three divisions of the Long Term Control Plan (LTCP) to mitigate discharges into the Washington waterways:

  • Division A of the plan is the Blue Plains Tunnel, which is five miles long, 140 feet deep and 23 feet in inside diameter, and is the first of three major new tunnels in the LTCP to capture and store CSO.
  • Division C involves the building of structures to divert CSO out of an existing trunk sewer and into a future Anacostia River tunnel system.
  • Division E is a design-bid-build CSO diversion structure and tunnel system in the vicinity of M Street and 12th streets in southeast Washington, D.C.