• Photo of Idlewild wetlands

    Courtesy of Perkins Eastman/BFJ Planning | Louis Berger

  • Concept diagram of proposed flood mitigation measures for Idlewild wetlands

    Proposed Flood Mitigation Concept

  • Rendering of Idlewild wetland restoration concept

    Rendering of Wetlands Restoration Concept

  • Section diagrams depicting existing and proposed street section at 149th Street in Idlewild wetlands watershed
  • Section diagram depicting proposed elevated Brookville Boulevard through Idlewild wetlands

    Proposed Elevated Brookville Boulevard through Idlewild Preserve

  • Photo of Brookville Boulevard through Idlewild Wetlands

    Existing boulevard through Idlewild Preserve (Courtesy of Perkins Eastman/BFJ Planning | Louis Berger)

Augmentation de la préparation à la résilience pour les communautés de New York

L'impact stupéfiant de l'ouragan Irene, de la tempête tropicale Lee et de l'ouragan Sandy a été ressenti dans la majeure partie de New York. Ils ont dévasté les communautés et provoqué des dégâts considérables sur les infrastructures. Il devient indispensable de construire des communautés résistantes lorsqu'on constate l'augmentation constante de la fréquence de ces catastrophes naturelles.  

Défi
Au cours de l'ouragan Sandy, les communautés de Springfield Gardens, de Brookville et de Rosedale ont été confrontées à des inondations extrêmes dues aux marées. Le manque de surfaces perméables au sein des communautés a provoqué l'écoulement des eaux pluviales, ce qui a fait déborder leur système d'évacuation et engendré des inondations dans des zones hors de la portée des zones inondables par les marées. Ces communautés sont également régulièrement confrontées à des inondations à une échelle moins importante lors des marées hautes, des gros orages ou des tempêtes en raison de leur faible topographie, le niveau élevé de leur nappe phréatique, et de leur proximité des marécages côtiers.

Solution
Dans le cadre du New York Rising Community Reconstruction Program établi par l'Office of Storm Recovery du Gouverneur, Louis Berger a aidé à développer un plan qui fournit une approche intégrée à la résilience, notamment la gestion des inondations dans les communautés de Idlewild Watershed. Ce plan comporte plusieurs stratégies durables et rentables en matière de résilience, afin de :

  • alléger les conditions d'inondations localisées.
  • renforcer la capacité de réponse de la communauté en cas d'urgence.
  • soutenir l'intendance environnementale des ressources naturelles et fabriquées par l'homme dans la communauté.
  • Garantir un accès sécurisé et fiable aux biens et services essentiels.

Ce plan met aussi l'accent sur le besoin d'expansion des infrastructures écologiques pour la gestion des eaux pluviales, ainsi que sur la mise en place d'une formation concentrée afin d'augmenter la capacité locale à se remettre des catastrophes.

• Photo of Idlewild wetlands

    Courtesy of Perkins Eastman/BFJ Planning | Louis Berger

  • Concept diagram of proposed flood mitigation measures for Idlewild wetlands

    Proposed Flood Mitigation Concept

  • Rendering of Idlewild wetland restoration concept

    Rendering of Wetlands Restoration Concept

  • Section diagrams depicting existing and proposed street section at 149th Street in Idlewild wetlands watershed
  • Section diagram depicting proposed elevated Brookville Boulevard through Idlewild wetlands

    Proposed Elevated Brookville Boulevard through Idlewild Preserve

  • Photo of Brookville Boulevard through Idlewild Wetlands

    Existing boulevard through Idlewild Preserve (Courtesy of Perkins Eastman/BFJ Planning | Louis Berger)

Improving resiliency preparedness for New York communities

The staggering impact of Hurricane Irene, Tropical Storm Lee and Superstorm Sandy was felt in large areas of New York, resulting in devastated communities and significant damage to infrastructure. As the frequency of such natural disasters continues to rise, fostering community resilience has become critically important.  

Challenge
During Superstorm Sandy, the communities of Springfield Gardens, Brookville and Rosedale experienced extreme tidal flooding. The lack of permeable surfaces within the communities led to rainwater runoff, causing overflows of the stormwater system and flooding in areas beyond the range of the tidal flooding. The communities also experience frequent stormwater flooding on a smaller scale during high tide events, heavy rainstorms, and nor’easters due to their low-lying topography, high groundwater table, and proximity to tidal wetlands.

Solution
As part of the New York Rising Community Reconstruction Program established by the Governor’s Office of Storm Recovery, Louis Berger helped develop a plan that provides an integrated approach to resilience, including flood management in the Idlewild Watershed Communities. The plan includes several sustainable and cost-effective resilience strategies, which will serve to:

  • Alleviate localized flooding conditions.
  • Strengthen the emergency response capacity of the community.
  • Support environmental stewardship of the community’s natural and manmade resources.
  • Provide safe and reliable access to critical goods and services.

The plan also emphasizes the need for the expansion of green infrastructure for stormwater management, as well as implementation of concentrated education and training in order to increase local capacity for disaster recovery.