• Rendering of proposed design for A-66 Highway Access to the City of Oviedo, Spain

    Proposed

  • View of existing A-66 Highway Access into Oviedo, Spain

    Existing

  • Aerial view of existing versus proposed A-66 Highway Access into Ovieto, Spain

    Existing | Proposed

  • Aerial view of existing versus proposed A-66 Highway Access to the City of Oviedo, Spain

    Existing | Proposed

  • Illustrative Plan of A-66 Highway Access to Oviedo, Spain

    Illustrative Plan

Améliorer la mobilité tout en protégeant les trésors de la ville

À environ 19 kilomètres au sud de la mer Cantabrique, Oviedo est la capitale de la principauté des Asturies, dans le nord de l'Espagne. C'est aussi le centre administratif et commercial de cette région. Oviedo dispose d'une riche histoire architecturale, avec de nombreux bâtiments datant du début du Moyen-Âge.

Défi L'a
ccès nord à Oviedo par l'autoroute A-66 crée une barrière entre deux parties de la ville, ainsi qu'une brèche dans le tissu urbain, comprenant un élément architectural remarquable, l'église romane de San Julián de los Prados. Construite pendant le règne d'Alfonso II (791-842), il s'agit de l'une des églises les mieux conservées de la ville, et la zone archéologique protégée qui l'entoure constitue un important espace vert dans la ville.  Cependant, l'importance du trafic et la circulation provoquent fréquemment des embouteillages et une pollution élevée dans cette zone, alors que la proximité de l'autoroute soumet la façade en pierre du monument aux dommages occasionnés par les gaz d'échappement. Pour améliorer les conditions environnementales autour de l'accès principal à la ville, il faut intervenir de manière à réorienter la circulation loin de cette zone.

Solution
Louis Berger a été contacté par le gouvernement des Asturies pour offrir une nouvelle conception de l'autoroute A-66, pour raccorder le tissu urbain d'Oviedo tout en répondant aux inquiétudes environnementales. La solution proposée consiste à diminuer la hauteur de la surface de la route, et à couvrir la portion longeant l'église de San Julián de los Prados. Ainsi, une nouvelle zone urbaine verra le jour, qui mettra en valeur l'église et son environnement tout en reliant les quartiers résidentiels qui sont actuellement séparés par l'autoroute. Ce projet prévoit également la conception de nouveaux ronds-points, sur trois voies, pour améliorer la fluidité du trafic, qui est actuellement très embouteillé.

• Rendering of proposed design for A-66 Highway Access to the City of Oviedo, Spain

    Proposed

  • View of existing A-66 Highway Access into Oviedo, Spain

    Existing

  • Aerial view of existing versus proposed A-66 Highway Access into Ovieto, Spain

    Existing | Proposed

  • Aerial view of existing versus proposed A-66 Highway Access to the City of Oviedo, Spain

    Existing | Proposed

  • Illustrative Plan of A-66 Highway Access to Oviedo, Spain

    Illustrative Plan

Improving mobility while protecting urban treasures

Located approximately 12 miles south of the Cantabrian Sea, Oviedo is the capital city of the Principality of Asturias in northern Spain and the administrative and commercial center of the region. Oviedo contains a very rich architectural history, with many buildings dating back to the early medieval period.

Challenge
The northern access to Oviedo via the A-66 freeway creates a barrier between two sides of the city and causes a break in the urban fabric, which includes a remarkable architectural element, the Romanesque Church of San Julián de los Prados. Constructed during the reign of Alfonso II (791-842), it is one of the best preserved churches in the city and the archeologically protected area around it provides an important urban greenspace.  However, heavy traffic and congestion on the road produce frequent traffic jams and high pollution in the area, while the monument’s close proximity to the freeway subjects its stone facade to damage from harmful gases. Improving the environmental conditions surrounding this main access to the city requires an intervention that channels traffic away from the area.

Solution
Louis Berger was commissioned by the Government of Asturias to provide a new design for the A-66 freeway that will knit together the dissected urban fabric of Oviedo while addressing environmental concerns. The proposed solution calls for lowering the elevation of the road surface and covering the section that passes by the Church of San Julián de los Prados. Thus, a new urban area will be created that highlights the church and surrounds while acting as a connector between the residential areas now divided by the freeway. The project also includes the design of a new roundabout structured in three levels that will improve the fluidity of the traffic in what is now a highly congested junction.