• Sava River Bridge in Serbia
  • aerial view of Sava River Bridge in Serbia
  • Serbia highway
  • Serbia highway
  • Sava River Bridge in Serbia
  • view of Serbia bridge from below
  • view of Serbia bridge steel cables
  • Serbia bridge under construction
  • Pedestrian walk next to bridge
  • view of Serbia bridge from Sava River
Un pont historique favorise la fluidité de la circulation à Belgrade

Belgrade, capitale de la Serbie, est l'une des plus grandes villes d'Europe du Sud. Situé au confluent du Danube et de la Sava, Belgrade est un centre économique et culturel florissant qui compte près de 2 millions d'habitants.

Défi
La rivière Sava créé une frontière entre la vieille ville et le nouveau Belgrade qui se développe rapidement au nord. La croissance de Belgrade a généré des embouteillages dans le centre-ville, et plus particulièrement au niveau des voies d'accès à la rivière Save. La capacité du réseau routier entravait le déplacement entre les deux parties de la ville.

Solution
Belgrade s'est engagée à construire un pont supplémentaire et des voies d'accès pour répondre aux demandes croissantes en matière de circulation. La ville a choisi Louis Berger pour assurer la gestion du projet et les services d'ingénierie concernant la construction d'un nouveau pont enjambant la Sava sur la pointe de l'île Ada Ciganlija, avec des échangeurs et des voies d'accès.

Ce pont à haubans de 964 mètres de long, doté d'un seul pylône de 200 mètres de haut, fait partie des plus hauts ponts de ce type dans le monde. Le fait d'utiliser un seul pylône pour soutenir la principale travée limite la perturbation de la circulation maritime commerciale sur la Sava.

La travée principale en acier de 376 mètres de long est soutenue par 80 haubans, équilibrés par une travée arrière plus lourde, en béton, sur 200 mètres de long. Le tablier du pont est de 45 pieds (14 mètres) de large et peut accueillir six voies de circulation routière, une ligne de train léger à double voie, des pistes cyclables et piétonnes de chaque côté.

Sa structure spectaculaire, véritable symbole de la ville, constitue un lien vital qui relie le vieux Belgrade aux nouvelles zones commerciales et résidentielles de la ville, situées au nord de la Save. En détournant la circulation du centre-ville, le pont permet de réduire les embouteillages et les temps de déplacement, générant des avantages économiques substantiels.

Documents à télécharger :

pdfEn cours de réalisation : La construction du tablier du nouveau pont historique sur la Save est en cours, ©Bridge design and engineering magazine, www.bridgeweb.com

pdfL'imminente fermeture du tablier constitue un réel pas en avant pour le nouveau pont historique de Belgrade, ©Bridge design and engineering magazine, www.bridgeweb.com

• Sava River Bridge in Serbia
  • aerial view of Sava River Bridge in Serbia
  • Serbia highway
  • Serbia highway
  • Sava River Bridge in Serbia
  • view of Serbia bridge from below
  • view of Serbia bridge steel cables
  • Serbia bridge under construction
  • Pedestrian walk next to bridge
  • view of Serbia bridge from Sava River
Landmark bridge keeps traffic moving in Belgrade

Belgrade is the capital city of Serbia and one of the largest cities in southeastern Europe. Located at the confluence of the Danube and Sava rivers, Belgrade is a flourishing economic and cultural center with a population of nearly 2 million people.

Challenge
The Sava River divides the old section of Belgrade from the rapidly developing New Belgrade to the north. The growth of Belgrade has created traffic congestion in the center of the city, with the approaches to the two existing Sava River crossings being particular pinch points. The lack of capacity on the road network hindered travel between the two sides of the city.

Solution
Belgrade committed to constructing an additional bridge and approaches to meet increasing traffic demands. The city selected Louis Berger to provide project management and engineering services for the construction of a new bridge spanning the Sava River over the tip of Ada Ciganlija island, along with interchanges and approach roads.

The 964-meter-long, cable-stayed bridge has a single 200-meter-high pylon, which is among the tallest of its type in the world. Using only one pylon to support the main span limits disruption of commercial boat traffic on the Sava River.

The steel main span is 376 meters long and is supported by 80 stay cables, balanced by a heavier 200-meter-long concrete back span. The bridge deck is 45 feet wide and accommodates six lanes of vehicle traffic, a double-track light rail line, and pathways on each side for cyclists and pedestrians.

The dramatic structure serves as a city landmark and vital link connecting old Belgrade with the city’s new commercial and residential zones north of the Sava River. By diverting traffic from the city center, the bridge helps reduce traffic congestion and travel times, generating substantial economic benefits.

Downloadable Materials:

pdfOn the rise: Erection of the deck for a new landmark bridge over the Sava River is under way, ©Bridge design and engineering magazine, www.bridgeweb.com

pdfImminent deck closure marks good progress on Belgrade's new landmark, ©Bridge design and engineering magazine, www.bridgeweb.com