• aerial view of The Panama Canal
  • view of third bridge at the Panama Canal
  • Panama Canal rendering
  • aerial view of the third bridge in the Panama Canal
  • third bridge in the panama canal
  • excavator
  • workers standing on bay
  • workers with excavation equipment
Le nouveau pont sur le canal de Panama va relier des destinations clés

Le Panama, à la pointe sud de l'Amérique centrale, se trouve sur l'isthme reliant l'Amérique du Nord et l'Amérique du Sud. Des plans pour un canal dans l'emplacement stratégique du Panama avaient été poursuivis puis abandonnés par le Roi d'Espagne en 1534 et par le Français Ferdinand de Lesseps en 1888 avant que les États-Unis ne complètent le canal en 1914. Il dessert actuellement 17 000 navires et 300 millions de tonnes de marchandises par an.

Défi Au Pa
nama, deux ponts traversent le canal, mais l'expansion de cette voie navigable de renommée mondiale exigeait la construction d'un troisième pont d'ici 2016. Le nouveau pont du Panama reliera le port clé de Colon aux communautés vivant à l'ouest du canal.

Solution
Louis Berger, impliqué dans la conception des deux ponts existants sur le Canal de Panama, a été choisi pour concevoir le troisième ainsi que les routes d'accès. L'entreprise travaille avec les China Communications Construction Company/Highway Planning and Design Institute.

Le nouveau pont s'étendra de l'entrée de l'océan Atlantique au canal. Il disposera d'une voie rapide de 1050 mètres, à portée haubanée. La portée principale de 530 mètres sera la structure haubanée à quatre voies en béton la plus longue du monde. Les longueurs des routes d'accès et des viaducs est et ouest seront de 2031 mètres.

En reliant les deux régions du Panama, le nouveau pont devrait stimuler le tourisme, stimuler l'économie locale et permettre de générer un développement dans l'avenir.

• aerial view of The Panama Canal
  • view of third bridge at the Panama Canal
  • Panama Canal rendering
  • aerial view of the third bridge in the Panama Canal
  • third bridge in the panama canal
  • excavator
  • workers standing on bay
  • workers with excavation equipment
New Panama Canal bridge to link key destinations

Panama, at the southern tip of Central America, is on the isthmus connecting North and South America. Plans for a canal in strategic Panama were pursued but abandoned by the king of Spain in 1534 and by Frenchman Ferdinand de Lesseps in 1888 before the United States completed the canal in 1914. It currently serves 17,000 ships and 300 million tons of cargo annually.

Challenge
Two bridges in Panama span the canal, but expansion of the world-renowned waterway called for the construction of a third bridge by 2016. The new bridge in Panama will link the key seaport of Colon to communities to the west of the canal.

Solution
Louis Berger, involved in designing the two existing Panama Canal bridges, was chosen to design the third bridge and access routes. The firm is working with the China Communications Construction Company/Highway Planning and Design Institute.

The new bridge will span the Atlantic Ocean entrance to the canal. It features a 1,050-meter dual carriageway, cable-stayed span. The 530-meter main span will be the longest concrete four-lane cable-stayed structure in the world. The lengths of the east and west approach roads and viaducts will be 2,031 meters.

By linking the two regions of Panama, the new bridge is expected to boost tourism, stimulate the local economy and help generate future development.